Disney Blogs, Travel Blog, Uncategorized

My Disney Cultural Exchange Program completed ‘Bucket List’

Last summer I had the most amazing opportunity to go live and work in Walt Disney World, Florida. I applied for the Cultural Exchange Program through  Yummy Jobs in July 2016. The program allows you to work in Disney World for three months over the summer. Click here to see my adventure 

IMG_7637

Here is a quick overview of my application process:

(Scroll down if you want to see my completed Disney CEP Bucket List)

I sent my application off for the Cultural Exchange Program in July 2016 and then waited to hear back. I heard back once the applications were closed that I had been selected for the group interview in Epping, Essex. I was so excited but nervous as I really wanted to take part in the program. I had my interview, tried my hardest and then it was just a waiting game. The Yummy Jobs staff were great and were super friendly which helped the process. There were Facebook groups with other people who had applied for the program and we were all just as nervous as each other so all interacted on the group.

The days felt like months and years until we heard whether we had a final interview. I was one of the last to hear and found out that I was put on ‘hold’. What this meant was that they thought the interview went great and everything but they didn’t know how many places Disney had on the program, so I’d have to wait and see if I had a final interview. After about four loooooooong days I found out I had been selected for a final interview in Disney Head Quarters, London. This was such an exciting day. The Yummy Jobs staff were great at keeping us all relaxed and chilled before the interview. Also the man who interviewed me was so lovely, he made the whole interview process seem relaxed and he was fantastic. After leaving the interview they said it would be around 3 weeks (I think) until we would hear. Let me tell you, that was the longest 3 weeks ever!

After 3 long weeks, 4 days before Christmas I received that beautiful email saying that I was going to be a RECREATION CAST MEMBER!!! I remember being home alone and not being able to tell anyone, so I waited and surprised my family when they came home.  I applied in July 2016 and found out I was accepted December 2016! The countdown was on.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Before I went to Disney for the summer, I knew there would be a lot of things I would want to cram into my summer (alongside working of course). Before I went on my program I looked at other people’s Bucket List’s and decided to create my own. I would always see blogs on what people planned to do and what they wanted to do on their program but did not see many lists of what they actually completed once they finished the program. Therefore, I thought I would show you mine!

Disney CEP Bucket List 2017

Resorts:

  • Eat the Kitchen Sink @ Beaches and Cream
  • Resort Hop 
  • See as many resorts as possible 
    Here are the resorts I did visit:
    Swan/Dolphin Resort, Beach Club, Beach and Yacht Club, The Polynesian Resort, Grand Floridian, Contemporary, Art of Animation, Disney’s All Star Movies, Wilderness Lodge, Animal Kingdom Lodge, Port Orleans (Riverside/French Riviera), Disney’s Old Key West.
  • Eat the ice cream from the Dolphin Resort
  • Watch a movie at the outdoor cinemas (briefly watched one at the Polynesian Resort)
  • Watch the Fireworks from the Beach @ The Polynesian Resort
  • Do a Staycation (x4, All Star Movies, Swan Resort, Polynesian, Art of Animation)
  • Have a Dole Whip at the Polynesian
  • Visit Trader Sam’s and have a cocktail

Restaurants/Quick Service:

I tried to remember as many as I could but I’m sure I’ve missed a few!

  • Ohana
  • Be Our Guest
  • Yak and Yeti (Quick Service)
  • Satu’li Canteen
  • The Garden Grill
  • Cape May Cafe
  • Beaches and Cream
  • IHOP
  • ESPN Bar/Restaurant
  • Boardwalk Bakery 
  • Trattoria al Forno
  • Cheesecake Factory
  • 50s Prime Time Diner
  • Raglan Road 
  • Ghirardelli
  • Hard Rock Cafe
  • Trails End Restaurant 
  • Panda Express
  • Buy a Sprinkles Cupcake
  • Eat Mac and Cheese
  • Saana
  • Boma
  • Blaze Pizza
  • Casey’s Corner
  • Wolfgang Puck Express
  • Kona cafe

Rides

  • Every ride! – Didn’t get chance to do every single ride but got round to going on all the rides that I had planned to!

Other

  • Visit Disney Springs
  • Buy and use a Universal Annual Pass
  • Go to a housing event
  • Go to my Graduation 
  • Go to Disney University 
  • Go to Cast Member only shops 
  • Go shopping at the Outlets (this happened a lot)
  • Attend a special event (Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party)
  • Be one of the last people in Magic Kingdom
  • Go to City Walk at night time 
  • Have an ice cream from ‘Florean Fortescue’s Ice Cream
  • Meet characters! – I managed to meet quite a few different characters and some which I hadn’t met before including: Joy & Sadness, Safari Donald, Mickey, Chip & Dale etc.
  • Visit a park alone 

 

Things I did not get chance to do:

  • Do a night Safari
  • Go to all of the resorts
  • Go to Chef Mickey’s
  • Go to the Yachtsman Steakhouse
  • Go to Be Our Guest for Breakfast
  • Buy a Dooney & Bourke Bag
  • 4 Parks 1 Day
  • Buy a Spirit Jersey

I’m sure there are a lot more things that I could’ve done which I did not get chance to. I will try to complete some of the above on my next trip!

I didn’t realise how much I had accomplished whilst over in Florida for the summer.  There are still a lot of things which I would have liked to have done but there simply wasn’t the time. I had the most amazing summer and I feel that you can never do everything when you visit Disney World (which means there’s always time for another visit).

If you’re going on a Disney International Program you will have the best time! Make the most of it and do everything that you can. Any questions please comment below 🙂

Until next time 🙂

 

Leave a comment